ainewscast.net
ainewscast.net|Markets|Special Report
Saturday, September 26, 2026
TSLA $372.11 · mkt cap ≈ $1.47T34 SPCX $148.68 · mkt cap ≈ $2.02T35 Prices as of the Sept. 25, 2026 close (ET)
Special Report · Autonomy & Electric Freight

Tesla’s $1.5 Trillion Question: Can Cybercab and the Semi Earn It?

The robotaxi is finally coming off the line, and the big rig finally has a factory. Our scenario model finds the two programs, on their own, account for only a small slice of Tesla’s market value unless the bull case arrives. Here is what that means for Tesla, and for the newly public SpaceX.

By Glen ReifsteckSeptember 26, 202613 min read
BULL BASE BEAR TODAY Freight TESLA SEMI CYBERCAB ILLUSTRATION: AINEWSCAST.NET · STYLIZED SILHOUETTES, NOT TO SCALE · LINE AND SCENARIO FAN ARE DECORATIVE, NOT DATA
By the Numbers Sourced figures; see notes
~1,000
Cybercabs built since pilot production began in Feb. 20267
Road to Autonomy / OMEGA · Sept. 6
>125k
Installed annual Cybercab capacity at Giga Texas, which Tesla says is not the current rate1
Tesla Q2 2026 Update
546
Robotaxis registered in Texas (420 Model Y, 126 Cybercab)9
Tesla Oracle · Sept. 26
50,000
Semi nameplate capacity per year at Sparks, Nev.; current rate not disclosed16
Reuters · Sept. 24
1.4%
Tesla Q2 2026 operating margin; free cash flow −$1.1B1
Tesla Q2 2026 Update
>$25B
2026 capex guidance, rising for 2–3 more years2
Q2 2026 earnings call

Key Takeaways

  • Both programs exist now. Cybercab production began at Giga Texas in April.6 Tesla opened its Nevada Semi plant on Sept. 24 with a 50,000-a-year nameplate.16 Volumes are still tiny, and in July Tesla dropped its promise of 2026 “volume production.”4
  • Base case: useful, not transformative. Our model puts Cybercab-led robotaxi plus Semi at about $31.6B of revenue and $9.8B of EBITDA in 2035. That is worth roughly $83.1B in present value, about 5.7% of Tesla’s ~$1.47T market cap.Modeled
  • Only the bull case comes close to the stock price. With 2 million robotaxis at $1.20 a mile, 50% margins and 100,000 Semis a year, the two programs are worth about $920B today.Modeled
  • The near term costs money. Q2 operating margin was 1.4%, free cash flow was negative, and 2026 capex is guided above $25B.12 NHTSA has ordered Tesla to show under oath that the Cybercab is legal to sell. The response is due Sept. 30.13
  • The SpaceX link runs mostly through Musk and market sentiment. Tesla owns less than 1% of SpaceX, worth about $3B.137 The commercial ties (Starlink in the Cybercab, Grok in the car, Megapack sales) are small next to SpaceX’s ~$2.02T value.35

Tesla has long asked investors to value what it will do, not what it does, and September gave that bet two concrete things to point to. On Sept. 3–4, the steering-wheel-free Cybercab began carrying paying riders in part of Austin.1310 Three weeks later, executives cut the ribbon on a dedicated Tesla Semi factory in Sparks, Nev., almost nine years after the truck was unveiled.16 Trucks wearing the logos of PepsiCo, DHL and US Foods were on stage.17

The stock has not celebrated. Tesla closed Sept. 25 at $372.11, a market value of about $1.47 trillion. That is below its value at the end of 2025.34 Second-quarter revenue rose 26% to $28.2 billion, but operating margin fell to 1.4%, operating expenses jumped 47%, and free cash flow turned negative as capital spending more than doubled.13 In July, Tesla also stopped promising “volume production” of Cybercab, Semi and Megapack 3 this year. It named 4680 battery-cell capacity as the constraint.4

That tension frames this report. Using Tesla’s disclosures, published analyst work and a transparent scenario model, we ask a narrow question: how much of Tesla’s valuation can Cybercab and the Semi plausibly support, and what does the answer imply for SpaceX, Elon Musk’s other trillion-dollar company? Every projection below is labeled as an author scenario, not a forecast. Every input is listed in the Model Assumptions table.

Part I

The Robotaxi Bet

Tesla unveiled the Cybercab at its “We, Robot” event on Oct. 10, 2024. Musk promised a two-seater with no steering wheel or pedals, production “before 2027,” a price below $30,000 for buyers, and an average operating cost of “around $0.20 per mile” over time.5 Parts of that timeline held up. The first wheel-less unit rolled off the Giga Texas line in February 2026. Musk said on the April earnings call that “we have just started production of Cybercab,” and warned that the ramp would be “a stretched out S-curve.”6

The factory side looks ready. Tesla’s Q2 update lists more than 125,000 units of installed annual Cybercab capacity in Texas, with its standard caveat that installed capacity “≠ current production rate.”1 On Sept. 22, Tesla said the line was turning out a Cybercab drive unit every 10 seconds.14 The binding constraints are elsewhere. One is batteries: roughly 1,000 Cybercabs had been built by early September, according to OMEGA data cited by The Road to Autonomy, because 4680 cell output is shared with the Cybertruck.7 The other, larger constraint is software that can drive without supervision at scale.

What the fleet really looks like

Tesla launched paid robotaxi rides in Austin on June 22, 2025. It now lists seven metros: Austin, Dallas, Houston, Miami, Orlando, Tampa and the San Francisco Bay Area. The Bay Area still runs with a safety driver under a California permit.111 On the July call, AI chief Ashok Elluswamy said the fleet had logged more than 380,000 unsupervised miles with “zero notable incidents.” He said unsupervised miles had grown at double-digit weekly rates since January.2 Nevada authorized up to 5,000 vehicles in Clark County on Aug. 20. Service there had not started as of September.10

Tesla does not disclose how many cars run unsupervised, and outside counts depend on definitions. Texas registrations reached 546 on Sept. 26: 420 Model Ys and 126 Cybercabs.9 Electrek, citing a community tracker, reported that only eight Tesla robotaxis were seen carrying passengers in Austin in the week to Sept. 22. Only 179 of the 476 vehicles registered at that point had been spotted at all in the prior 30 days.8 Neither number is definitive. Together, they show how far registrations are from real utilization.

Illustrative scenario model, not a forecast
Figure 2 · Tesla-operated robotaxi fleet, year-end vehicles
Author scenarios for a Cybercab-led fleet, 2026–2035. Dashed line: the 1 million robotaxis in commercial operation named in Tesla’s 2025 CEO award.36

Source: ainewscast.net scenario model (author assumptions; see Model Assumptions). Reference line: Tesla 2025 CEO Performance Award, via Reuters, Nov. 6, 2025. Illustrative scenario model, not a forecast.

Economics per mile

The investment case rests on the gap between what a ride costs and what a rider pays. Tesla’s Austin fare since March 7 has been a $3.00 base plus $1.40 a mile. A five-mile trip costs $10, or about $2.00 a mile.12 In San Francisco, where Tesla still uses safety drivers, pricing firm Obi measured an average Tesla fare of $1.99 per kilometer (about $3.20 a mile) against Waymo’s $5.72 per kilometer. Average rides cost $8.17 for Tesla, $15.47 for Lyft, $17.47 for Uber and $19.69 for Waymo.24 Obi concluded that Tesla’s pricing “appears designed to attract riders to its service rather than attempting to earn revenue on rides.”24

Goldman Sachs Research, in an April 30 report, put today’s rideshare cost at more than $2 a mile, against $0.77 to $1.00 a mile to own and run a personal car. It modeled a vertically integrated AV operator’s cost of goods falling below $1 a mile in the U.S. by 2035.22 AAA’s 2025 study puts the average cost of owning a new vehicle at 77¢ a mile at 15,000 miles a year, and about 71¢ for an EV.23 Musk’s 20-cent figure is aggressive even next to Goldman’s long-run math. It is a target, not a disclosed result.

Sourced figures · different definitions
Figure 3 · What a mile costs: fares, ownership costs and targets ($ per mile)
Navy = rider fares measured or published. Gray = cost of owning a personal car. Maroon = projections or company targets, not measured results.

Sources: Obi, “The Cost of Autonomy,” Jan. 2026 (SF data Nov. 27, 2025–Jan. 1, 2026; km converted at 1.609); Basenor, Mar. 11, 2026 (Austin fare; $/mi derived for a 5-mile trip); Goldman Sachs Research, Apr. 30, 2026; AAA “Your Driving Costs,” Sept. 2025; TechCrunch, Oct. 10, 2024 (Musk target). Fares and costs are not like-for-like.

“Every Cybercab that rolls off the line without functional unsupervised autonomy is an expensive paperweight waiting for software …”Electrek, April 23, 2026

The competitive field

Tesla is not first, and it is not the biggest. Waymo raised $16 billion at a $126 billion post-money valuation in February.26 It now averages about 500,000 paid rides a week across 15 U.S. cities with roughly 4,000 vehicles.25 Amazon’s Zoox won a federal exemption for its controls-free vehicle, capped at 2,500 units a year, and began charging riders in Las Vegas in August.2713 Baidu’s Apollo Go delivered 3.2 million fully driverless rides in the first quarter and operates in 27 cities.28 Tesla’s real edge is cost: camera-only hardware, a vehicle it designs and builds itself, and fares incumbents have not matched. What it has not yet shown is scale.

Robotaxi operators at a glance (metrics are not directly comparable)
OperatorLatest disclosed or reported scaleAs ofSrc.
Waymo (Alphabet)~4,000 robotaxis; ~500k paid rides/week; 15 U.S. cities; $126B post-money valuation (Feb. 2026)Sept. 24, 202625, 26
Tesla7 metros; 546 Texas registrations (registered, not necessarily active); >380k cumulative unsupervised miles (as of July)Sept. 26, 20261, 2, 9
Zoox (Amazon)NHTSA Part 555 exemption (≤2,500 vehicles/yr); paid rides in Las Vegas from Aug. 10Aug. 202613, 27
Baidu Apollo Go3.2M fully driverless rides in Q1 2026; weekly peak >350k; 27 citiesMay 18, 202628
Part II

The Semi’s Freight Opportunity

The Semi is the less glamorous program, but its path to revenue is simpler: Tesla sells a truck and gets paid. The production truck comes in two trims. Standard Range is rated at 325 miles and Long Range at 500 miles. Both are rated at 82,000 pounds gross combined weight and 1.7 kWh per mile, with three motors producing 800 kW.19 Electrek reported in February that Tesla was quoting $290,000 for Long Range. California voucher documents listed about $260,000 for Standard Range and $300,000 for Long Range. That is well below the $435,000 average price of a zero-emission Class 8 truck that CARB data showed for 2024.19

The Nevada plant is designed for 50,000 trucks a year, about 1,000 a week. Tesla has not disclosed its current rate, its 2026 output or a date for reaching nameplate.1618 Orders are real but modest so far. Einride announced a 500-truck deal in August, IMC Logistics plans 50 trucks for California drayage, and a shipper coalition picked Tesla to supply 2,500 zero-emission trucks.18 Wall Street consensus compiled by Visible Alpha, as reported by The Motley Fool, sees 4,000 Semis in 2027 and 12,000 in 2028.29

That context argues for caution. Battery-electric heavy trucks remain a rounding error in U.S. registrations, and 2025 volumes fell.20 The upside is autonomy. Musk said in July that Tesla expects to “get self-driving working on the Tesla Semi probably around the end of this year or early next year.” He added that truck autonomy is “taking a bit of a backseat” to cars for about six months.2 Morgan Stanley has sketched a scenario of more than 80,000 autonomous Semis on the road by 2040, each generating up to $18,000 a month in FSD revenue.29 That is a long-dated possibility, not a base case.

Illustrative scenario model, not a forecast
Figure 4 · Tesla Semi deliveries per year
Author scenarios. The base case matches the Visible Alpha consensus for 2027–28 (gold markers) and reaches the 50,000 Nevada nameplate in 2035. The bull case assumes a second production line.

Source: ainewscast.net scenario model. Anchors: Visible Alpha consensus via The Motley Fool, Sept. 16, 2026; 50k nameplate per Reuters, Sept. 24, 2026. Illustrative scenario model, not a forecast.

Part III

What It’s Worth: Valuation Scenarios

Start with the business Tesla has today. Revenue for the twelve months through June topped $100 billion for the first time. Automotive is still about three-quarters of the total, while energy and services grow faster.1 Trailing adjusted EBITDA was $15.3 billion.1

Sourced · reported figures
Figure 1 · Tesla revenue by segment ($ billions)
Fiscal years 2023–2025 and the trailing twelve months through Q2 2026.

Sources: Tesla Form 10-K for FY2024 (2023–24); Tesla FY2025 results, SEC Ex. 99.1, Jan. 2026; Tesla Q2 2026 Update, July 22, 2026 (TTM = sum of reported quarters Q3 2025–Q2 2026).

Our model adds two revenue lines on top of that base. Robotaxi revenue is average fleet × paid miles per vehicle × price per mile. Price starts at $2.00 in 2026, anchored to the Austin fare on a five-mile trip, and glides to $0.70 (bear), $1.00 (base) or $1.20 (bull) by 2035. Semi revenue is units × average selling price. ASP starts at $275,000, the midpoint of the reported trim prices, and a software-and-charging stream is added for trucks already on the road. EBITDA margins ramp from start-up losses to terminal levels informed by Goldman’s 30–50% gross-margin range for integrated operators.22 We value 2035 EBITDA at 12×, 20× or 30× and discount it to today at 12%, 10% or 9%.Author assumptions

Illustrative scenario model, not a forecast
Figure 5 · Incremental revenue from robotaxi + Semi ($ billions)
Bars: base-case revenue split by program. Lines: total incremental revenue in the bear and bull cases.

Source: ainewscast.net scenario model (author assumptions). Illustrative scenario model, not a forecast.

The results are sobering for anyone who thinks these two products alone explain the stock. In the base case, the fleet reaches 500,000 vehicles by 2035, about 8% of the roughly 6 million global robotaxis Goldman projects for that year.22 Robotaxi revenue reaches $19.0B and Semi revenue $12.6B, for combined EBITDA of $9.8B in 2035.Modeled At 20× that is $196B of enterprise value in 2035, or $83.1B in today’s dollars, about 5.7% of Tesla’s market cap.Modeled

The bull case needs 2 million robotaxis, 50,000 paid miles per car per year, $1.20 a mile, 50% margins and a second Semi line. It produces $66.6B of 2035 EBITDA and a present value near $920B.Modeled The bear case assumes slow approvals, a price war and 150,000 cars by 2035. It is worth $3.8B, less than Tesla spent on capex in the second quarter alone.Modeled1

Illustrative scenario model, not a forecast
Figure 6 · What explains Tesla’s ~$1.47T market cap? Implied value by segment ($ billions)
Core business = trailing adjusted EBITDA ($15.3B) × scenario multiple. Robotaxi and Semi = present value of 2035 enterprise value. SpaceX stake at June 30 fair value. The outlined remainder is value the market assigns to everything else: Optimus, FSD subscriptions and licensing, AI, and growth in the core business.

Sources: ainewscast.net scenario model; Tesla Q2 2026 Update (TTM adj. EBITDA; SpaceX stake = $2.0B cost + $1.0B unrealized gain); StockAnalysis, Sept. 25, 2026 (market cap). Illustrative scenario model, not a forecast.

Seen this way, the market is doing one of two things. Either it is discounting something close to our bull case for Cybercab and Semi, or it is paying for a large block of value outside these two programs, above all Optimus and the economics of FSD software. In our base case that block exceeds $1.08T. How much of it is justified is a judgment call, not arithmetic, and it is where the sell side disagrees most.

Illustrative scenario model, not a forecast
Figure 7 · Sensitivity: present value of the robotaxi business ($ billions)
Rows: 2035 fleet size. Columns: price per paid mile. Holds base-case assumptions: 40k paid miles per vehicle, 40% EBITDA margin, 20× multiple, discounted 9 years at 10%. Outlined cell = base case (simplified).
Shading scales with value. For scale, Tesla’s market cap is ~$1,470B.34

Source: ainewscast.net scenario model (simplified: year-end fleet × utilization; ignores fleet capex funding). Illustrative scenario model, not a forecast.

What Wall Street says

Firm (analyst)RatingTargetDateAutonomy view (as reported)Src.
Wedbush (Dan Ives)Outperform$600Sept. 2026Values Tesla as an AI/robotics platform; puts the autonomy + AI ecosystem at “over $1 trillion”30
Morgan Stanley (Andrew Percoco)Equal-weight$400 base
$840 bull
Sept. 2026Bull case raised from $820; scenario of 80k+ autonomous Semis by 204029
UBS (Joseph Spak)Neutral$385
(from $442)
July 23, 2026Called management “cautious” on Robotaxi and Optimus timing; cut 2026–28 EPS forecasts31
GLJ ResearchSell$24.86June 12, 2026Skeptical that robotaxi will scale32
ARK Investn/a$2,600
(2029 EV)
June 12, 2024~90% of value attributed to robotaxi; bear ~$2,000, bull $3,100 (dated)33
Consensus (Alpha Vantage)22 Buy+ · 19 Hold · 5 Sell+$390.09Sept. 16, 2026Forward P/E ~154×; FY26 EPS estimate cut to $1.77 from $2.11 in 60 days30

Targets are per share, as reported by the cited outlets; we have not reviewed the underlying research notes. ARK’s figure dates from 2024; we have not checked for updates.

Part IV

The SpaceX Connection

This part needs precise language. Tesla and SpaceX are separate public companies with separate boards, shareholders and balance sheets. Neither depends on the other financially. What ties them together is Elon Musk, his capital allocation, some shared technology and a growing list of related-party deals. The biggest channel of all is investor sentiment toward Musk’s companies as a group.

SpaceX’s rise has been steep. A December 2024 tender valued it at about $350 billion and a July 2025 insider sale at about $400 billion. A December 2025 secondary set $800 billion.394041 In February, SpaceX acquired xAI in a deal valuing SpaceX at $1 trillion and xAI at $250 billion.42 On June 11 it priced a record $75 billion IPO at $135 a share, valuing the company at $1.77 trillion. Musk kept 82% of the voting power.43 The stock closed Sept. 25 at $148.68, about $2.02 trillion, which makes SpaceX more valuable than Tesla.35

Sourced history + labeled scenario range
Figure 8 · SpaceX valuation: private marks and public market cap ($ billions)
Dots = private marks (tender offers, the xAI merger). Line = public market cap since the June 2026 IPO. The shaded band is an illustrative range for end-2027, not a forecast. It is anchored to three sourced marks: the $1.25T xAI-merger value (low), the Sept. 25 market cap (mid) and the post-IPO closing high (high).

Sources: CNBC, Dec. 11, 2024; Bloomberg, July 15, 2025; Reuters, Dec. 13, 2025; Reuters, Feb. 2, 2026 (SpaceX $1T + xAI $250B, plotted combined); Reuters, June 11, 2026; StockAnalysis/S&P Global, daily market cap through Sept. 25, 2026. Band: author construction from those marks; not a forecast.

SpaceX’s fundamentals are strong, but they come from Starlink and AI, not from Tesla. In its first quarter as a public company, SpaceX reported revenue of $7.8 billion, up 92%. Connectivity brought in $4.3 billion and the AI segment $2.6 billion. Starlink subscribers doubled to 12.0 million at an average $66 a month. The company still posted a $541 million net loss, and AI capex alone was $15.8 billion in the quarter.44

The documented ties

LinkWhat the record showsSrc.
EquityTesla invested ~$2B in xAI (January 2026) after an advisory shareholder vote failed. When SpaceX acquired xAI, Tesla’s right converted into SpaceX stock. The purchase closed March 12: under 1% ownership, with a $1.0B unrealized gain recorded in Q2 2026.1, 37, 38
CommercialxAI bought $430M of Megapacks from Tesla in 2025. Grok runs in Tesla vehicles. Musk says Starlink is “being integrated into the Cybercab” and will be in all Tesla vehicles in markets where Starlink operates.2, 37
LeadershipMusk is CEO of both. He voted roughly 15% of Tesla at the 2025 meeting and holds 82% of SpaceX voting power after the IPO. Tesla’s 2025 CEO award ties 12 tranches to market-cap goals from $2T to $8.5T.36, 43
Capital marketsSpaceX’s $75B raise, with 30% set aside for retail, competes for the same pool of “Musk premium” capital. Reuters flagged possible scrutiny of the “movement of engineers, proprietary technology and contracts between entities.”42, 43

How much do Cybercab and Semi matter to SpaceX’s value? Directly, very little. As a rough yardstick, suppose every Cybercab in our base-case 2035 fleet paid Starlink’s current average of $66 a month. That comes to about $0.4 billion a year, roughly 2% of SpaceX’s annualized Q2 connectivity revenue.Illustrative arithmetic44 Going the other way, Tesla’s SpaceX stake is worth about $3 billion, roughly 0.2% of Tesla’s market cap.1

The real knock-on effects are harder to measure. A clean Cybercab scale-up would support the argument that Musk’s companies can execute on physical AI, and it would give Starlink a high-profile mobile customer. A serious robotaxi crash, an adverse NHTSA finding or a capex-driven cash squeeze at Tesla would do the opposite. It would raise questions about Musk’s attention and about related-party deal-making just as SpaceX is spending heavily on AI. We found no sourced analyst estimate that quantifies this sentiment channel. Investors should treat it as correlation risk, not as a line in a model.

Part V

Risks

Regulation and safety. NHTSA opened Audit Query AQ26002 on the Cybercab in early September. On Sept. 10 it escalated to a Special Order requiring Tesla to explain, under oath, how a vehicle with no pedals, steering wheel or mirrors complies with federal standards such as the foot-control rule in FMVSS 135, and why it needed no Part 555 exemption. The response is due Sept. 30.13 Zoox took the exemption route and accepted a cap of 2,500 vehicles a year.13 An adverse outcome could cap or delay the controls-free Cybercab, although Tesla also builds a version with a steering wheel.6

Competition. Waymo’s ~500,000 weekly paid rides dwarf anything Tesla has disclosed, and Waymo has $16 billion of fresh capital.2526 Chinese operators are scaling at home and in the Middle East.28 In trucking, Aurora and Kodiak are already running driverless tests and hauling cargo on public roads.15 Price competition is the main reason our bear case ends at $0.70 a mile.

Execution and capital. Tesla has a long record of missing autonomy deadlines. Musk promised in 2019 that there would be a million robotaxis on the road the following year.5 4680 cells are a stated bottleneck.4 Capex of more than $25 billion this year, set to rise for two to three more years and backed by up to $30 billion of new borrowing capacity, raises the cost of being wrong.2

Sourced · reported figures
Figure 9 · Tesla quarterly capital expenditures vs. free cash flow ($ billions)

Source: Tesla Q2 2026 Update, July 22, 2026 (free cash flow = operating cash flow − capex; non-GAAP).

Key person and governance. Musk’s role across Tesla and SpaceX is both a strength and a concentration risk. The xAI investment went ahead after the advisory vote failed under Tesla’s bylaw standard: 43.3% support when abstentions are counted, 53.6% of votes cast for or against.37 Critics will cite that episode in any future related-party deal.

Part VI

Bottom Line for Investors

Cybercab and the Semi are no longer vaporware. Both have factories, paying customers and published specifications. On any reasonable base case, though, they are mid-sized businesses by the mid-2030s: tens of billions of dollars in revenue, not hundreds. On our assumptions, together they justify well under a tenth of Tesla’s current market value. The stock’s premium rests on something bigger: a bull-case robotaxi network at global scale, Optimus, FSD software margins, or most likely some mix of the three.

That does not make Tesla overvalued or undervalued. It means investors should be clear about which bet they are making. The data points to watch over the next four quarters are specific: Tesla’s Sept. 30 answer to NHTSA; any disclosure of unsupervised vehicle counts or paid miles; Cybercab builds as 4680 supply improves; Semi delivery numbers from Nevada; and whether capex starts producing positive free cash flow again. For SpaceX holders, Tesla’s robotaxi progress is a sentiment input, not a fundamental one.

On our base case, Cybercab and the Semi together justify well under a tenth of Tesla’s value. The rest of the premium is a bet on something bigger.ainewscast.net analysis
Methodology

Model Assumptions

Every modeled number on this page comes from the inputs below. “Author assumption” means a judgment by ainewscast.net, informed by the context shown. None of these assumptions comes from a named firm, and no modeled figure should be attributed to any company or analyst.

InputBearBaseBullBasis / contextType
Robotaxi fleet, year-end 2026 → 2030 → 20351k → 35k → 150k1.5k → 175k → 500k2.5k → 500k → 2.0M~1,000 Cybercabs built by Sept. 20267; >125k/yr Texas line1; Goldman global fleet ~1M (2030), ~6M (2035)22Author assumption
Paid miles per vehicle per year (mature)30,00040,00050,000Waymo ~500k rides/wk ÷ ~4,000 cars ≈ 125 rides/car/wk25; trip length is assumedAuthor assumption
Utilization ramp (share of mature miles), 2026 / 27 / 28 / 29+50% / 70% / 85% / 100%Early geofenced operationsAuthor assumption
Price per paid mile, 2026 starting point$2.00Austin fare $3.00 + $1.40/mi = $10 for 5 mi12Derived from source
Price per paid mile, 2035 (linear glide from 2026)$0.70$1.00$1.20Goldman: AV ride cost “potentially… $1 or less per mile” long term22Author assumption
Robotaxi EBITDA margin (−50% in 2026, linear to terminal by 2031)25%40%50%Goldman: 30–50% gross margin for vertically integrated operators22Author assumption
Semi units, 2026 → 2028 → 2035300 → 4k → 17k800 → 12k → 50k1.5k → 20k → 100kConsensus 4k (2027), 12k (2028)29; 50k nameplate16; bull assumes a 2nd lineAuthor assumption
Semi ASP in 2026; annual change$275k; −4%$275k; −2%$275k; 0%Reported ~$260k (Standard) and $290k–$300k (Long Range)19Derived + assumption
Semi hardware EBITDA margin (−30% in 2026, linear to terminal by 2030)5%12%18%Tesla auto gross margin ex-credits 16.3% (Q2 2026)1Author assumption
Semi software + charging revenue per truck on the road per year (from 2028; 70% margin)$0$5,000$20,000MS scenario: up to $18k/month FSD per autonomous truck by 204029Author assumption
EV/EBITDA multiple on 2035 EBITDA (also applied to core TTM EBITDA)12×20×30×Tesla currently trades at ~118× EV/EBITDA30Author assumption
Discount rate (9 years, end-2035 back to end-2026)12%10%9%Equity-style hurdle ratesAuthor assumption
Core Tesla TTM adjusted EBITDA$15.322BTesla Q2 2026 Update1Sourced
Tesla market cap (reference)~$1.47TStockAnalysis, Sept. 25, 202634Sourced
Tesla’s SpaceX stake (fair value, June 30, 2026)~$3.0B$2.002B purchase + $1.005B unrealized gain1Derived from source

Scenario outputs

Limitations. The model excludes several things: revenue shared with owners who put their own cars in the fleet (Musk has cited a 25–30% take rate5), FSD on consumer cars, Optimus, lost vehicle sales, the cost of funding the fleet (500k Cybercabs at a sub-$30k price implies roughly $15B of capital), and taxes. It values only 2035 EBITDA and ignores cash flows in between. Treat it as a framework for testing assumptions, not a price target.

Documentation

Sources & Methodology

Figures come from company filings, regulator documents and the named news and research outlets, accessed Sept. 26, 2026. Where outlets disagree (for example, on fleet counts), we cite the definition each one uses. Market data are as of the Sept. 25, 2026 close. Distances are converted at 1 mile = 1.609 km. Superscript numbers in the text refer to this list.

  1. Tesla, Q2 2026 Update, July 22, 2026. assets-ir.tesla.com
  2. Tesla Q2 2026 earnings call transcript (call held July 22, 2026), via The Motley Fool. fool.com
  3. CNBC, “Tesla (TSLA) Q2 2026 earnings report,” July 22, 2026. cnbc.com
  4. TechCrunch, “Tesla spending skyrockets as Cybercab, Semi, Megapack production timeline slips,” July 22, 2026. techcrunch.com
  5. TechCrunch, “Tesla reveals 20 Cybercabs at We, Robot event…,” Oct. 10, 2024. techcrunch.com
  6. Electrek, “Tesla confirms Cybercab production has started…,” Apr. 23, 2026. electrek.co
  7. The Road to Autonomy, “Cybercab Is Waiting on Batteries” (citing OMEGA data), Sept. 6, 2026. roadtoautonomy.com
  8. Electrek, “Tesla’s active robotaxi fleet in Austin crashes back to 8 vehicles…,” Sept. 22, 2026. electrek.co
  9. Tesla Oracle, “Tesla Robotaxi and Cybercab fleet in Texas surpasses the 500 mark (420 + 126),” Sept. 26, 2026. teslaoracle.com
  10. The Charge Port, “Robotaxi Status September 2026 — Waymo, Tesla & Zoox,” Sept. 2026. thechargeport.com
  11. Basenor, “Tesla Robotaxi Tracker,” data as of Sept. 4, 2026. basenor.com
  12. Basenor, “Tesla Robotaxi Pricing Changes in Austin,” Mar. 11, 2026 (updated July 16, 2026). basenor.com
  13. Electrek, “NHTSA orders Tesla to prove its Cybercab is legal to sell, under oath,” Sept. 15, 2026 (also covers the Zoox exemption). electrek.co
  14. Tesla North, “Tesla Cybercab Drive Units Now Roll Off Factory Line Every 10 Seconds,” Sept. 23, 2026. teslanorth.com
  15. CNBC, “Tesla aims to scale Semi truck production with Nevada factory opening,” Sept. 24, 2026. cnbc.com
  16. Reuters, “Tesla set to formally roll out Semi electric trucks at Nevada event,” Sept. 24, 2026. reuters.com
  17. Carscoops, “Tesla Starts New Semi Deliveries, But Won’t Say How Many,” Sept. 2026. carscoops.com
  18. TechSpot, “Tesla Semi enters volume production after years of delays,” Sept. 25, 2026. techspot.com
  19. Electrek, “Tesla is quoting $290,000 for its 500-miles electric semi truck,” Feb. 10, 2026. electrek.co
  20. ICCT, “Zero-emission bus and truck market in the United States (Jan.–Dec. 2025),” Apr. 2026. theicct.org
  21. Transport Topics (ACT Research data), “US Class 8 Truck Sales End Year With Sequential Boost,” Jan. 2026. ttnews.com
  22. Goldman Sachs Research, “Robotaxis Are Forecast to Become a $400 Billion Market in 2035,” Apr. 30, 2026. goldmansachs.com
  23. AAA, “Your Driving Costs 2025” fact sheet, Sept. 2025. newsroom.aaa.com
  24. Obi, “The Cost of Autonomy: Tesla, Waymo, and the New Rideshare Battleground,” Jan. 2026. rideobi.com
  25. TechCrunch, “Waymo is scaling fast: Here’s what the fleet data shows,” Sept. 24, 2026. techcrunch.com
  26. Waymo, “Accelerating our global growth: Waymo raises $16 billion investment round,” Feb. 2, 2026. waymo.com
  27. Los Angeles Times, “Zoox to begin paid rides following regulatory approval,” Aug. 10, 2026. latimes.com
  28. Baidu, “Baidu Announces First Quarter 2026 Results,” May 18, 2026. ir.baidu.com
  29. The Motley Fool, “One Wall Street Analyst Just Said Tesla Stock Could Be Worth $840” (Morgan Stanley; Visible Alpha consensus), Sept. 16, 2026. fool.com
  30. 24/7 Wall St., “Tesla Tanked This Year: One Of Tech’s Biggest Bulls Says 70% Are On The Horizon,” Sept. 16, 2026. 247wallst.com
  31. dpa-AFX via aktiencheck.de, “UBS senkt Ziel für Tesla auf 385 Dollar – ‘Neutral’,” July 24, 2026 (study dated July 23). aktiencheck.de
  32. Price-Target.com, “GLJ Research Reiterates Tesla’s ‘Sell’ Rating and $24.86 Price Target,” June 12, 2026. price-target.com
  33. ARK Invest, “ARK’s Expected Value For Tesla In 2029: $2,600 Per Share,” June 12, 2024. ark-invest.com
  34. StockAnalysis, “Tesla (TSLA) Market Cap,” close Sept. 25, 2026. stockanalysis.com
  35. StockAnalysis (S&P Global data), “SpaceX (SPCX) Market Cap,” close Sept. 25, 2026. stockanalysis.com
  36. Reuters, “Elon Musk’s $1 trillion Tesla pay plan wins shareholder approval,” Nov. 6, 2025. reuters.com
  37. 51percent, “Tesla Shareholders Voted on xAI. The Board Decided Anyway” (citing Tesla 8-K, 10-K, 10-K/A and 10-Q filings), 2026. 51percent.com
  38. Bloomberg, “Tesla Converts xAI Investment Into SpaceX Stake Ahead of IPO,” Mar. 12, 2026. bloomberg.com
  39. CNBC, “SpaceX valuation surges to $350 billion as company buys back stock,” Dec. 11, 2024. cnbc.com
  40. Bloomberg, “Elon Musk’s SpaceX Share Sale to Value Company at About $400 Billion,” July 15, 2025. bloomberg.com
  41. Reuters, “SpaceX insider share sale sets $800 billion valuation…,” Dec. 13, 2025. reuters.com
  42. Reuters, “SpaceX acquires xAI in record-setting deal…,” Feb. 2, 2026. reuters.com
  43. Reuters, “Musk’s SpaceX prices record $75 billion IPO at $135 a share,” June 11, 2026. reuters.com
  44. SpaceX, “SpaceX Reports Second Quarter 2026 Results,” Aug. 4, 2026. q4cdn.com
  45. Tesla, FY2025 results (SEC Exhibit 99.1), Jan. 2026; and Form 10-K for FY2024. sec.gov · sec.gov

Disclaimer. For informational purposes only. Not investment advice. This article is independent analysis by ainewscast.net and is not affiliated with or endorsed by Tesla, SpaceX or any firm cited. Scenario figures are illustrative outputs of a simplified model built on the stated author assumptions. They are not forecasts, price targets or recommendations. Sourced figures are reported as published by the cited outlets and may be revised. Do your own research and consult a licensed adviser before making any investment decision.